10 Travel Blogs I’m Reading Right Now

I only started following travel blogs closely in the past few years. Before that, I avoided them because I didn’t want to get a severe case of FOMO. But then I realized how ridiculous that was! It’s fun to live vicariously through other people, and it gave me a lot of travel destination ideas for when we are ready.

Furthermore, as I got to know some of these travel bloggers, I enjoyed their approach to travel blogging and creating compelling travel content. They’re also very engaged with their audience, which I really appreciate.

These are the travel blogs I’m following closely right now:

Food Travelist

I love this blog because they combine a love of food and travel. Food is a big reason I want to go to places. As a food blogger in a world-class travel destination itself, I am lucky to experience food from around the world at a plethora of restaurants. But it isn’t quite the same as being there.

In addition to their website, they host the weekly #FoodTravelChat on Wednesdays which I participate in as often as possible. I learn about different cultures and cuisines, food traditions, and ways of life. The blog articles are easy to read and include a lot of great food photography, too. I get a lot of ideas about where the hubby and I should travel for delicious food. Diana and Sue are professional food travelers so I trust what they have to say.

I May Roam

I May Roam is another blog that likes to blend food and travel writing. You can tell Brian loves to explore the food scenes in the cities he travels to. He goes off the beaten path. His articles are quite educational. I can tell he really immerses himself into learning all about the places he visits in hopes of teaching others. His articles on Street Food of Tokyo and Exploring Philadelphia’s Cambodia Town are really great examples of his captivating reporting.

He also writes about train travel which is something I’m very interested in.

Travel Latte

This blog covers a lot of ground, literally. They not only document their travels, but they also include travel tips, travel news, and various reviews. The website is jam-packed with a lot of useful information for the beginner and seasoned traveler alike.

They host the weekly #WeekendWanderlust Twitter chat, which is always great for travel inspiration and connecting with a community of travel fanatics. I also love that Rob (one half of the blogging duo along with Ann) is a big fan of the tiki lifestyle and jazz music. These are two interests of ours as well.

Must Love Traveling

Barbara and Mark are also a blogging couple who recently sold their home in Philadelphia for a life on the road as digital nomads. They share a prevailing ethos – “If we wait until we’re ready, we could be waiting for the rest of our lives.” Seeing the world together is their dream and they are living it.

I love that they still work full-time jobs and are pursuing their passion for travel. Fortunately, they can work remotely while roaming around. They’re also budget-conscious, which is totally relatable. I really like their travel guides in infographic form, too.

Obligatory Traveler

I actually know Sarah IRL. Despite her blog name, she prefers to go off the beaten path and do the non-touristy things. What I like best about Sarah is that she doesn’t let her chronic illnesses keep her from traveling. Her health conditions don’t slow her down. In fact, she credits travel with saving her life! She’s also a foodie like me and a nature lover, too.

Epicurean Expats

First of all, great name for a blog, eh? It kind of tells you right away what it’s about. I love Tom and Tiffany’s story about how they decided to move to Mexico after living the American Dream because they wanted more out of life. While they still travel for fine food, wine, and art, they’ve put down new roots and offer food tours in Queretaro and San Miguel de Allende, Mexico. I love how honest they are about their new life and offer many tips about becoming an ex-pat.

Through Julia’s Lens

I love blogs that feature a lot of great photography. While Julia’s blog indeed features a lot of great detail about her travel experiences, it’s her photography that truly tells the story of her journeys. Her articles also include a lot of helpful information and do’s and don’t’s of traveling. For example, I especially enjoyed Everything You Need to Know Before Visiting the Faroe Islands because far-flung places intrigue me. I also appreciated her honesty about the challenges of visiting such locations. Travelling is fun, but it’s not always perfect, right?

Travel on the Reg

When I stumbled upon this blog, I thought to myself, how refreshing! Agnes says she’s just a “regular person” who likes to travel when she can. Her blog is all very down-to-Earth and relatable and with a side of humor. She provides a lot of helpful tips, too. I especially love her coverage of San Diego, which is a city high up on our list of places to visit!

Roaming Historian

As history buffs, traveling to places of historic significance appeals to us. This blog is all about learning how to take enriching trips that include history, food, and fun. The main focus tends to be on places to visit in Europe, but they also cover many historical American cities and destinations. They seem to be big fans of group tours, which I feel can be an excellent way to explore a new place for the first time.

McCool Travel

I would be remiss if I didn’t include McCool Travel on this list. I have been following Charles McCool for a long time on Twitter. He’s a travel influencer who provides expert travel tips, speaks at travel conferences, and hosts #FunTravelChat. Travel is essentially his life. He eats, breaths, and sleeps travel.

What are your favorite travel blogs? I’d love to start following them!


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

2 responses to “10 Travel Blogs I’m Reading Right Now”

  1. bestregardsfromfar Avatar

    Thanks for the list! It is tough to find good quality travel blogs and it’s great 🙂 Are you familiar with ours 😉? http://www.BestRegardsFromFar.com? Definitely worth following 😀😉
    Thanks for introducing me to these 10 interesting travel blogs!

    Like

  2. Charles McCool: McCool Travel Avatar

    Woo hoo. Thank you for including me. #funness

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started